• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Beyond Appearances

    Released right in the middle of the crazy ’80s, Santana’s thirteenth studio album, Beyond Appearances, embraces the musical spirit of the era and gives it a Santana spin. The result is hot, rhythmic, and full of synthesizers and drum machines. With the exception of guitarist Carlos Santana, singer Alex Ligertwood, and the return of singer Greg Walker, Beyond Appearances features the new lineup of bassist Alphonso Johnson, keyboardist David Sancious, and the two Chester Thompsons: keyboardist Chester D. (who played in the Tower of Power) and drummer Chester Cortez (formerly of Genesis). Producer Val (Bette Davis Eyes) Garay co-wrote the album’s single “Say It Again,” which opens Side Two. After this comes the world beat of “Who Loves You,” cleverly followed by the band’s cover of Curtis Mayfield’s “I’m the One Who Loves You.” Another highlight is “Touchdown Raiders,” a driving instrumental that goes beyond the decade’s appearances to showcase Santana’s incredible talent.

    Beyond Appearances Catalog Number:  Columbia FC39527

    Beyond Appearances Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Breaking Out – 4:30

    2. Written in Sand – 3:49

    3. How Long – 4:00

    4. Brotherhood – 2:26

    5. Spirit – 5:04

    Side Two

    1. Say It Again – 3:27

    2. Who Loves You – 4:06

    3. I’m the One Who Loves You – 3:17

    4. Touchdown Raiders – 3:08

    5. Right Now – 5:58

    Get Beyond Appearances on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]santana beyond appearances, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: