• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Inner Secrets

    Santana’s ninth studio album, Inner Secrets, marks the band’s move away from jazz-fusion toward a more commercial sound. In addition to disco elements on single “One Chain (Don’t Make No Prison),” the album features shades of funk (“The Facts of Love”) and arena rock (“Open Invitation”), as well as a cover of Traffic’s “Dealer” infused with a Latin landscape. But it was Santana’s covers of Buddy Buie and J.R. Cobb’s “Stormy” and Buddy Holly’s “Well All Right” (via the Blind Faith version) that became the album’s main singles. Tom Coster had left the band at this point and is replaced by keyboardist Chris Rhyme and keyboardist/guitarist Chris Solberg on the album. Greg Walker’s R&B-style vocals are more abundant here, as is the mark of songwriting/production team Dennis Lambert and Brian Potter. But instrumentals “Life Is a Lady/Holiday” and “Wham!” are all Carlos and true album standouts.

    Inner Secrets Catalog Number:  Columbia FC35600

    Inner Secrets Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Dealer/Spanish Rose – 5:50

    2. Move On – 4:27

    3. One Chain (Don’t Make No Prison) – 6:13

    4. Stormy – 4:45

    Side Two

    1. Well All Right – 4:09

    2. Open Invitation – 4:45

    3. Life Is a Lady/Holiday – 3:47

    4. The Facts of Love – 5:28

    5. Wham! – 3:24

    Get Inner Secrets on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]santana inner secrets, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: