• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Santana

    Santana’s eponymous 1969 debut continues the momentum set by this San Francisco band’s explosive performance at Woodstock earlier that year. It features the classic Santana lineup: guitarist Carlos Santana and organist Gregg Rolie backed by the Afro-Latin rhythms of bassist David Brown, drummer Michael Shrieve, and percussionists Michael Carabello and Jose “Chepito” Areas. Santana’s manager, the infamous Bill Graham, was able to rein in their jam-band tendencies just enough to produce singles “Evil Ways” and “Jingo.” Yet, this recording still captures the group’s largely improvisational spirit, kinetic energy, and unique sound rooted in the blues with elements of rock, salsa, and jazz. “Soul Sacrifice,” a show-stopping highlight of Santana’s Woodstock set, is also a highlight of the album and just as blazing raw here. Peaking on the Billboard charts, this album helped bring Latin rock into the mainstream.

    Santana Catalog Number:  Columbia CK9781

    Santana Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Waiting – 4:07

    2. Evil Ways – 4:00

    3. Shades of Time – 3:14

    4. Savor – 2:46

    5. Jingo – 4:23

    Side Two

    1. Persuasion – 2:37

    2. Treat – 4:46

    3. You Just Don’t Care – 4:37

    4. Soul Sacrifice – 6:38

    Get Santana on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]santana santana, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: