• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Band of Gypsys

    What was originally the solution to a contractual obligation ended up being Jimi Hendrix’ last great testament. Released just three months before his tragic death at the age of 27, Band of Gypsys was recorded on New Year’s Eve, 1969 and New Year’s Day, 1970 at the Fillmore East. A live album, it features all new songs performed with the Band of Gypsys – bassist Billy Cox and drummer Buddy Miles – and pursues more groove-heavy funk (“Who Knows”) as well as mellower, more melodic songs (“Power to Love,” “Message to Love”). For these shows, Hendrix dropped the stage antics and stood motionless, performing with precision. It was the only known time he used the (rather temperamental) “Octavio” harmonic distortion pedal onstage. Hendrix’ mastery of the guitar is most pronounced on the twelve-and-a-half-minute “Machine Gun” as he conjures bombs, guns, and his most revolutionary guitar solo ever. It’s a performance that could never be captured in a studio.

    Band of Gypsys Catalog Number:  Capitol ST-472

    Band of Gypsys Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Who Knows – 9:34

    2. Machine Gun – 12:38

    Side Two

    1. Changes – 5:11

    2. Power to Love – 6:55

    3. Message to Love – 5:24

    4. We Gotta Live Together – 5:51

    Get Band of Gypsys on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hendrix band of gypsys, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: