• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Crash Landing

    Crash Landing was the first posthumous Jimi Hendrix release to be produced by Alan Douglas. Douglas took a different approach than Eddie Kramer and John Jansen by adding overdubs recorded with session musicians. Some people felt this detracted from Hendrix’ vision, others that it was the only way these works in progress would see the light of day. (Hendrix’ vocals and guitar contributions were retained.) The album includes the studio versions of “Message to Love” and “With the Power” (previously “Power to Love”) from the Band of Gypsys album. The psychedelic instrumental “Captain Coconut” was a composite of three recordings, which Jansen had intended for the film Rainbow Bridge. Another instrumental, “Peace in Mississippi” is one of Hendrix’ heaviest moments. “Somewhere” was recorded in March 1968 prior to the sessions for Electric Ladyland, and “Stone Free Again” was recorded in April 1969 by the original Jimi Hendrix Experience lineup.

    Crash Landing Catalog Number:  Reprise MS 2204

    Crash Landing Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Message to Love – 3:14

    2. Somewhere over the Rainbow – 3:30

    3. Crash Landing – 4:14

    4. Come down Hard on Me – 3:16

    Side Two

    1. Peace in Mississippi – 4:21

    2. With the Power – 3:28

    3. Stone Free Again – 3:25

    4. Captain Coconut – 4:06

    Get Crash Landing on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hendrix crash landing, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: