• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Electric Ladyland

    Electric Ladyland is the third and final album by the Jimi Hendrix Experience, released as a double LP in 1968. Where the band’s debut album showed what Jimi Hendrix could get out of a guitar, Electric Ladyland shows what he could get out of a studio; it is a masterpiece in innovation and technique. Hendrix’s scope was vast, but his perfectionism was even greater and his insistence on doing multiple takes drove out producer Chas Chandler and annoyed bassist Noel Redding. As a result, Hendrix handled most of the album’s production and bass parts, including the bass solo on “1983.” His cover of Bob Dylan’s “All Along the Watchtower” was the single, but Electric Ladyland features everything from the psychedelic “Burning of the Midnight Lamp” to the extended blues jam “Voodoo Chile” featuring Steve Winwood on organ and Jack Casady on bass. Additional guests include former Dylan organist Al Kooper, Traffic’s Dave Mason and Chris Wood, and future Band of Gypsys drummer Buddy Miles.

    Electric Ladyland Catalog Number:  Track/Reprise 1968

    Electric Ladyland Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. …And the Gods Made Love – 1:21

    2. Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland) – 2:11

    3. Crosstown Traffic – 2:25

    4. Voodoo Chile – 15:00

    Side Two

    1. Little Miss Strange – 2:52

    2. Long Hot Summer Night – 3:27

    3. Come On (Let the Good Times Roll) – 4:09

    4. Gypsy Eyes – 3:43

    5. Burning of the Midnight Lamp – 3:39

    Side Three

    1. Rainy Day, Dream Away – 3:42

    2. 1983…(A Merman I Should Turn to Be) – 13:39

    3. Moon, Turn the Tides…Gently Gently Away – 1:02

    Side Four

    1. Still Raining, Still Dreaming – 4:25

    2. House Burning Down – 4:33

    3. All Along the Watchtower – 4:01

    4. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) – 5:12

    Get Electric Ladyland on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hendrix electric ladyland, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: