• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Midnight Lightning

    Midnight Lightning was the sixth posthumous Jimi Hendrix album, and the second produced by Alan Douglas. The songs featured in this collection consist of post-Jimi Hendrix Experience recordings that originally featured Billy Cox on bass and either Mitch Mitchell or Buddy Miles on drums. Like on Crash Landing, Douglas brought in session musicians to overdub parts of songs. Mitchell still makes an appearance in his instrumental “Beginnings,” which is similar to “Beginning” off the posthumous War Heroes. Included are staples like “Hear My Train a Comin'” dating back to 1967, and “Machine Gun.” “Trash Man” is another instrumental highlight, built upon the opening riff of “Foxey Lady,” and “Blue Suede Shoes” appears in its complete form here without the chitchat of the Loose Ends version. As these were not songs identified by Hendrix for his next album, First Ray of the New Rising Sun, little information exists regarding some of them. Nonetheless, Midnight Lightning provides another crucial look at this revolutionary artist.

    Midnight Lightning Catalog Number:  Reprise 2310 415

    Midnight Lightning Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Trash Man – 3:16

    2. Midnight Lightning – 3:52

    3. Hear My Train a Comin’ – 5:18

    4. Gypsy Boy – 3:51

    Side Two

    1. Blue Suede Shoes – 3:28

    2. Machine Gun – 7:27

    3. Once I Had a Woman – 5:44

    4. Beginnings – 3:02

    Get Midnight Lightning on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hendrix midnight lightning, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: