• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Nine to the Universe

    Nine to the Universe was the seventh posthumous Jimi Hendrix album, and the third produced by Alan Douglas. It stands out from the others for featuring purely jazz instrumentals. Raw, loose, and loud, it’s Hendrix’ guitar that sings, and this collection brilliantly illustrates not only his virtuosity on the instrument but his improvisational genius. Pairing up with the legendary jazz organist Larry Young (Miles Davis), Hendrix created a jazz-rock masterpiece that opens Side Two. Following this is “Easy Blues,” another standout. There are musicians rotating in and out of these late-night jam sessions, many of which are unknown. However, these recordings retain most of the original backing tracks, and feature Buddy Miles and Mitch Mitchell on drums, Billy Cox on bass, and Larry Lee on rhythm guitar. With the exception of “Message from Nine to the Universe” (an early version of what would became “Message to Love”), all song titles were made up during the album’s production.

    Nine to the Universe Catalog Number:  Reprise HS 2299

    Nine to the Universe Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Message from Nine to the Universe – 8:45

    2. Jimi/Jimmy Jam – 8:04

    Side Two

    1. Young/Hendrix – 10:22

    2. Easy Blues – 4:30

    3. Drone Blues – 6:16

    Get Nine to the Universe on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]hendrix nine to the universe, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: