• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • A Kind of Magic

    A Kind of Magic is the unofficial soundtrack to the 1986 fantasy action film Highlander. Six of the album’s nine songs appear in the film (although different versions of them), with “Princes of the Universe” as the theme song. One of Queen’s heaviest offerings, “Gimme the Prize (Kurgan’s Theme)” samples lines from the film like “It’s better to burn out than to fade away.” In contrast, “Who Wants to Live Forever” features a string orchestra, as well as a moving duet between Freddie Mercury and Brian May. The Motown-infused single “Pain Is So Close to Pleasure” is the last Queen song that Mercury sang completely in falsetto, and “Friends Will Be Friends” is a Mercury piano ballad in the same vein as “We Are the Champions.” Reaching the number-one slot in the UK, A Kind of Magic was Queen’s last release to be supported by a tour due to Mercury’s diagnosis with HIV and eventual death in 1991.

    A Kind of Magic Catalog Number:  EMI B-5590

    A Kind of Magic Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. One Vision – 5:10

    2. A Kind of Magic – 4:24

    3. One Year of Love – 4:26

    4. Pain Is So Close to Pleasure – 4:21

    5. Friends Will Be Friends – 4:07

    Side Two

    1. Who Wants to Live Forever – 5:15

    2. Gimme the Prize (Kurgan’s Theme) – 4:34

    3. Don’t Lose Your Head – 4:38

    4. Princes of the Universe – 3:32

    Get A Kind of Magic on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]queen kind of magic, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: