• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • A Night at the Opera

    Taking its name from the Marx Brothers film, A Night at the Opera was the most expensive album ever recorded at the time of its release. Fortunately, it produced one of the most legendary singles ever recorded, “Bohemian Rhapsody.” Despite being nearly six minutes long, this pseudo-operatic rock masterpiece topped the charts worldwide. The album also includes John Deacon’s first single “You’re My Best Friend,” Brian May’s pastoral folk “39,” Roger Taylor’s famous “I’m in Love with My Car,” and Freddie Mercury’s oft-covered “Love of My Life.” “God Save the Queen” is a brilliant display of May’s guitar layering technique, and the bridge of “Seaside Rendezvous” is a brilliant display of Mercury and Taylor imitating woodwind and brass instruments with their voices. Like its main single, the album masterfully manipulates dynamics and reveals a ridiculous sense of humor, studio genius, and glorious pomp in Queen’s hard rock. Simply put, it made Queen rock and roll royalty.

    A Night at the Opera Catalog Number:  EMI/Elektra 7E1053

    A Night at the Opera Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Death on Two Legs (Dedicated To…) – 3:43

    2. Lazing on a Sunday Afternoon – 1:08

    3. I’m in Love with My Car – 3:05

    4. You’re My Best Friend – 2:50

    5. ’39 – 3:25

    6. Sweet Lady – 4:01

    7. Seaside Rendezvous – 2:13

    Side Two

    1. The Prophet’s Song – 8:17

    2. Love of My Life – 3:38

    3. Good Company – 3:26

    4. Bohemian Rhapsody – 5:55

    5. God Save the Queen – 1:11

    Get A Night at the Opera on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]queen night at the opera, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: