• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Night in the Ruts

    Aerosmith’s sixth album was released in 1979 and brought both the decade and the initial era of the band to a close. Guitarist Joe Perry left midway through the recording sessions and was replaced by Jimmy Crespo. On top of that, the recording process was interrupted when Columbia Records sent Aerosmith out on tour before it was finished and replaced the band’s regular producer Jack Douglas with Gary Lyons. As a result, Night in the Ruts was (unfairly) doomed before it was even released and, as a result, widely overlooked. Even Steven Tyler admits this was a shame because songs like opener “No Surprize”—a song about the band’s early days on which he lays it all out—are pretty damn good. Tyler also delivers one of his most powerful ballads with “Mia,” a song for his newborn daughter, and Perry can still be heard killing it on the horn-filled rocker “Chiquita” and the slow blues slide of “Cheese Cake.” Other highlights include a cover of the Shangri-Las’ “Remember (Walking in the Sand),” the Rocks-esque “Three Mile Smile,” and the band’s remake of the rare Yardbirds b-side “Think About It.”

    Night in the Ruts Catalog Number: Columbia PC 36050

    Night in the Ruts Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. No Surprize – 4:26

    2. Chiquita – 4:25

    3. Remember (Walking in the Sand) – 4:05

    4. Cheese Cake – 4:16

    Side Two

    1. Three Mile Smile – 3:43

    2. Reefer Head Woman – 4:03

    3. Bone to Bone (Coney Island White Fish Boy) – 3:00

    4. Think About It – 3:35

    5. Mia – 4:13

    Get Night in the Ruts on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]aerosmith night in the ruts, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: