• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • Rock in a Hard Place

    Aerosmith’s 1982 album Rock in a Hard Place found the hard rockers in somewhat of a hard place. Guitarists Joe Perry and Brad Whitford had left the band, taking much of Aerosmith’s classic ’70s sound with them, and were replaced by fill-ins Jimmy Crespo and Rick Dufay. While he didn’t have the same swing as Perry, Crespo could play some seriously driving riffs (“Jailbait,” “Lightning Strikes”) and hold his own on the slide guitar (“Bolivian Ragamuffin”). What stands out most about this album, though, is the increased studio experimentation—most apparent in the psychedelic layers of “Joanie’s Butterfly” and the vocoder-infused “Prelude to Joanie.” Also among the album’s many pleasant surprises is Steven Tyler’s sensitive rendition of Julie London’s “Cry Me a River.”

    Rock in a Hard Place Catalog Number: Columbia PC 38061

    Rock in a Hard Place Track Listing:

    Side One

    1. Jailbait – 4:39

    2. Lightning Strikes – 4:26

    3. Bitch’s Brew – 4:13

    4. Bolivian Ragamuffin – 3:33

    5. Cry Me a River – 4:06

    Side Two

    1. Prelude to Joanie – 1:30

    2. Joanie’s Butterfly – 5:32

    3. Rock in a Hard Place (Cheshire Cat) – 4:41

    4. Jig Is Up – 3:10

    5. Push Comes to Shove – 4:27

    Get Rock in a Hard Place on Vinyl:

    [phpbay]aerosmith rock in a hard place, 24, “306”, “”[/phpbay]

    Post By: