• Videos On YouTube

  • Vinyl Revinyl Topics

  • « | Home | »

    Vinyl Releases of the Week: March 7, 2012

    Post By:

    You know it’s going to be a good week when it begins with new music from Bruce Springsteen! Additional vinyl releases from the Bangles, Captain Beefheart, Edgar and Johnny Winter, Wes Montgomery, and many more guarantee you’ll be pumped by Friday.

    Bruce SpringsteenWrecking Ball (Columbia)
    The Boss is back with his first album in three years!  And it’s a big rock record, as stylistically diverse as it is politically charged. Fans may recognize the songs “American Land,” “Wrecking Ball,” and “Land of Hope and Dreams,” which were previously released as live tracks. Re-imagined here, the latter two feature sax solos from the Boss’ longtime E Street Band sideman, the late Clarence Clemons. Guests Tom Morello (Rage Against the Machine) and drummer Matt Chamberlain also make an appearance on the album. Available as a double 180-gram vinyl LP plus CD.

    The Edgar Winter Group They Only Come Out at Night (Friday Music)
    This 1972 smash hit from Edgar Winter is now available for the first time on audiophile vinyl! Features 10 outstanding cuts including the classic rock staples “Free Ride” and “Frankenstein.”

    Johnny Winter –  Live Johnny Winter And (Friday Music)
    And from Edgar’s brother Johnny: a re-mastered audiophile vinyl pressing of his enormously popular 1971 live album, taken from his performances at the Fillmore East and Pirate’s World in Florida. A blues-rock extravaganza, the album features searing renditions of “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” and “Johnny B. Goode,” as well as a rock ‘n’ roll medley and some blues classics.

    Captain BeefheartMerseytrout (Ozit Records UK)
    A limited edition double LP pressing of the best-selling Captain Beefheart live album, recorded at Rotters Club in Liverpool in 1980. Previously only available on CD.

    The Bangles Sweetheart of the Sun (Waterfront Records)
    Vinyl pressing of the 2011 offering from the Bangles. Co-produced by Matthew Sweet, it features the Bangles’ sunny vocal harmonies and signature blend of ‘60s-inspired folk and British Invasion rock.

    The Jesus & Mary ChainStoned & Dethroned (1972 Records)
    This 1994 album from the Scottish alternative rockers is back on vinyl for the first time since its original release. Featuring guest vocalists Shane MacGowan of the Pogues (“God Help Me”) and Hope Sandoval of Mazzy Star (“Sometimes Always”), it marks a drastic shift into calmer, more acoustic country/folk territory.

    Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works, Volume II (1972 Records)
    Another 1994 album is back on wax thanks to the good folks at 1972 Records. This time it’s from British electronic genius Richard James, who says he heard the album’s compositions in lucid dreams. Triple vinyl pressing.

    The RunawaysAnd Now…  The Runaways (Cherry Red UK)
    UK reissue of the final studio album by the all-girl group. Featuring Joan Jett as lead vocalist, the album includes covers of the Beatles’ “Eight Days a Week” and Slade’s “Mama Weer All Crazee Now,” as well as “Black Leather,” a song originally written by ex-Sex Pistols Steve Jones and Paul Cook.

    Rory GallagherRory Gallagher, Deuce, Blueprint, Tattoo, Irish Tour ‘74 (Music on Vinyl Imports)
    Heavyweight audiophile vinyl reissues of five early solo gems from the Irish blues-rock musician, originally released between 1971 and 1974. Includes the double live album Irish Tour ’74, which not only documents Gallagher’s explosive live show but his performance through a troubled Belfast.

    Wes MontgomeryEchoes of Indiana Avenue (Resonance Records)
    In celebration of what would have been Wes Montgomery’s 88th birthday comes this limited-edition 180-gram double LP – the first album of previously unheard music from the guitar legend in over 25 years! Contains rare studio and live performances recorded in Indianapolis between 1957 and 1958, before Montgomery’s 1959 debut, that capture both Montgomery’s immense talent and the Indianapolis jazz scene.

    Bon Iver – “Towers” 7-inch (Jagjaguwar)
    The third single from Bon Iver’s self-titled album, backed by a cover of John Prine’s “Bruised Orange (Chain of Sorrow).”

    Bright Eyes A Collection of Songs Written and Recorded 1995-1997, Oh Holy Fools: The Music of Son, Ambulance & Bright Eyes (Saddle Creek)
    Die-hard Bright Eyes fans will be happy to hear that some of the band’s more obscure titles are back on 180-gram vinyl for the first time in years. A Collection of Songs… is Bright Eyes’ debut, featuring 20 songs recorded on a 4-track by Conor Oberst before his 18th birthday. Oh Holy Fools is a split EP from Bright Eyes and Son, Ambulance that was originally released in 2001.

    Andrew Bird Break It Yourself (Mom & Pop Music)
    Double 180-gram vinyl LP pressing of the new release from Chicago-based multi-instrumentalist and master whistler, Andrew Bird. The magic is in the subtleties on this one and Bird’s lovely song craft is sure to delight on vinyl.

    Donovan The Hurdy Gurdy Man (Music on Vinyl Import)
    Imported 180-gram vinyl reissue of Donovan’s 1968 album featuring the hit title track. Recorded shortly after A Gift from a Flower to a Garden (1967) and after returning from a 1968 visit to India where he studied under Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, the album is a mix of dark, droning psychedelia and pop.

    TrickyMaxinquaye (Music on Vinyl Import)
    180-gram vinyl reissue of the 1995 solo debut from the British trip-hop pioneer. Features vocalists Martina Topley-Bird and Goldfrapp.

    Afro FunkBody Music (Secret Stash)
    The sole LP from the London-based West African ex-pats has been a rare commodity since it was originally released in 1975. This marks the first reissue of the deep funk/Afro-beat collectible and includes a digital download coupon.

    John MayerWhere the Light Is: Live in Los Angeles (Music on Vinyl Import)
    Deluxe 180-gram 4xLP reissue of this 2008 live album from the Grammy-winning singer-songwriter. Includes three different sets – an acoustic performance, a set with the John Mayer Trio, and a set with Mayer’s full band – as well as Mayer’s acoustic cover of Tom Petty’s “Free Fallin’.”

    The Magnetic FieldsLove at the Bottom of the Sea (Merge)
    After the “no-synth trilogy” of the 2000s, the Magnetic Fields revisit their signature ‘90s synth-driven pop sound on their new album, Love at the Bottom of the Sea, with a fresh approach – and synthesizers that didn’t exist the last time around.

    Join the Conversation: Post a Comment!

    Topics: Music, Record Collecting, Vinyl Releases | No Comments »